Beacon Press: The Golden Thirteen
Login Cart

The Golden Thirteen

How Black Men Won the Right to Wear Navy Gold

Author: Dan C. Goldberg

The story of the 13 courageous black men who integrated the officer corps of the US Navy during World War II—leading desegregation efforts across America and anticipating the civil rights movement

Through previously unpublished oral histories and original interviews with surviving family members, Dan Goldberg brings 13 forgotten heroes away from the margins of history and into the spotlight. He reveals the opposition these men faced: the racist pseudo-science, the regular condescension, the repeated epithets, the verbal abuse and even violence. Despite these immense challenges, the Golden Thirteen persisted—understanding the power of integration, the opportunities for black Americans if they succeeded, and the consequences if they failed.

Until 1942, black men in the Navy could hold jobs only as cleaners and cooks. The Navy reluctantly decided to select the first black men to undergo officer training in 1944, after enormous pressure from ordinary citizens and civil rights leaders. These men, segregated and sworn to secrecy, worked harder than they ever had in their lives and ultimately passed their exams with the highest average of any class in Navy history.

In March 1944, these sailors became officers, the first black men to wear the gold stripes. Yet even then, their fight wasn’t over: white men refused to salute them, refused to eat at their table, and refused to accept that black men could be superior to them in rank. Still, the Golden Thirteen persevered, determined to hold their heads high and set an example that would inspire generations to come.

In the vein of Hidden Figures, The Golden Thirteen reveals the contributions of heroes who were previously lost to history.
Bookmark and Share
The Golden Thirteen is the book all Americans need to read. Black servicemen have consistently served this country with bravery and valor, and Dan Goldberg intricately lays out the contributions of Black soldiers who have been leaders, crusaders, champions, and fighters in the quest for racial equity in our armed forces and our nation more broadly. His analysis introduces us to patriots who have paved the way for new generations of men and women in the United States armed forces. These Black Navy men fought our adversaries abroad. In doing so, they were an inspiration for their communities at home while simultaneously overcoming racism at the hands of their own countrymen while abroad. This is a must-read for anyone interested in race, service, heroism, the civil rights movement, and the power of a few brave men to change the course of American history.”
—Christina M. Greer, author of Black Ethnics: Race, Immigration, and the Pursuit of the American Dream

“Deeply researched and very well written, Dan Goldberg’s work offers a long overdue homage to the first black officers commissioned in a white man’s navy. Theirs was a battle on two fronts—leading other sailors during the Second World War while confronting stubborn, often frightening racial inequality at home. Yet the men stood tall in their gold stripes, taking some of the initial steps in this nation’s civil rights movement. All thirteen prevailed; heroes all.”
—Richard A. Serrano, author of Summoned at Midnight: A Story of Race and the Last Military Executions at Fort Leavenworth

The Golden Thirteen is the inspiring tale of World War II sailors thrust by fate into defeating the rampant racism that infected even their commander in chief—and how they prevailed to become the US Navy’s first black officers. Thanks to the research and writing skills of Dan Goldberg, no more will they be forgotten.”
—Arthur Browne, author of One Righteous Man: Samuel Battle and the Shattering of the Color Line in New York


The Golden Thirteen

ISBN: 978-080702158-3
Publication Date: 5/19/2020
Size:6 x 9 Inches (US)
Price:  $28.95
Format: Cloth
Not Yet Published
Will Ship On: May 2020
(Backorder policy)
Qty: