Beacon Press: Awards
Login Cart

Awards Won by Beacon Press

National Book Award

National Book Critics Circle Award, Finalist

Lannan Literary Fellowship

Lannan Literary Award for Non-fiction

L.L. Winship/PEN New England Award

  • Here and Nowhere Else (Jane Brox, 1995)
  • House of Light (Mary Oliver, 1991)

PEN American Center Beyond Margins Award

PEN Southwest Book Award for Poetry

Letitia Woods Brown Memorial Book Award

NAACP Image Award - Biography / Autobiography

MEMO Palestine Book Award Winner

Lionel Trilling Book Award Winner

International Latino Book Awards

Minnesota Book Award Winner - Memoir and Creative Nonfiction

Frederick Douglass Book Prize, Finalist

Zora Neale Hurston/Richard Wright Legacy Award, Short List

Christopher Award

Grawemeyer Award in Religion

Grawemeyer Award of Ideas Improving World Order

National Outdoor Book Awards

Gustavus Myers Center for the Study of Bigotry and Human Rights, Outstanding Book Awards

Albert A . Hourani Award of the Middle East Studies Association, Honorable Mention

Kappa Delta Pi International Honor Society in Education Book of the Year Selection

Anthony Leeds Prize

Victor Turner Prize in Enthographic Writing

  • Homefront (Catherine Lutz, 2002 honorable mention)

AAR Best First Book In History of Religion

Dayton Literary Peace Prize

PASS Award

Lambda Literary Awards

Historic Winslow House Book Award

C. L. R. James Award for Best Book

Ken Book Award

Plattner Award

Goldie Award

Quill Award

Mountains and Plains Booksellers Association Regional Award/Arts

  • The Pueblo Imagination (Lee Marmon, 2004)

ALA Stonewall Israel Fishman Non-Fiction Award

ALA Stonewall Honor Book in Nonfiction

CHOICE Magazine, Outstanding Academic Books

Spirituality & Health Best Books

New England Booksellers Association Book Award

New England Booksellers Association, Literary Excellence Award

New England Booksellers Association, Presidential Award

Firecracker Alternative Book Award

American Library Association Best Book for Young Adults

  • The Measure of Our Success (Marian Wright Edelman, 1993)

Library Journal, Best Books of the Year

Publishing Triangle Literary Awards

Harry Chapin Media Awards

Independent Book Publisher’s Association (IBPA) Awards

AAUP “Best of the Best from the University Presses: Books You Should Know About” Award, by the American Library Association

American Book Award

Investigative Reporters and Editors Book Award

New York City Book Award

Wheatley Book Award

Sara A. Whaley Book Prize

Society for this History of the Early Republic (SHEAR) Book Prize

Phillis Wheatley Literary Award from the Sons & Daughters of the United States

Middle Passage (SDUSMP) Heredity Society

PEN Oakland/Josephine Miles Literary Award